Tags

The world lost another musical legend today. What is going on with 2016? It seems like every other week  we lose someone whose music was part of the background of our life.

I first heard of Prince in 1982, when the deejay for my bat mitzvah handed me a 45 of “1999” by Prince as a gift. I clearly remember thinking how weird it was that I’d be 30 in 1999 and how far away that seemed. 1999_coverEven now, when I hear that song, I remember that feeling of having age 30 be far off into the future.  Today, it’s way back there in the rear-view mirror. And of course when it actually was 1999, the song had a big presence as the world anxiously waited to see how the Y2K issue would play out.

The other Prince song that brings back a specific memory is “Let’s Go Crazy.” I remember being at my aunt and uncle’s wedding, which was outside at a park. Somebody drove by and screamed, “Dearly Beloved, we are gathered here today to get through this thing called life.” Even today, I think of that song, long after the marriage ended, and sadly, after my dear aunt’s recent death. It’s amazing how music makes that kind of imprint on one’s memory – I can’t recall any other moments from that wedding.

My other favorites are “When Doves Cry,” “Kiss,” “Purple Rain,” “Little Red Corvette” and “Raspberry Beret.”

Rest in peace, Prince, thanks for all your music.

(Today was my mom’s yahrzeit (anniversary of the Hebrew date of her death) so last night I lit a yahrzeit candle in her memory. She was also born and raised in Minnesota and died too young.)

