Tags

, ,

As I mentioned in my previous post, I recently signed up for a community college course about song copyrights and making a demo. As it got closer, I noticed that it was no longer listed in the online version of the class schedule.

But since I didn’t receive an email notifying me of its cancellation and I never remembered to call when the school office was open, I decided to just show up anyway just in case.

When I got to the classroom, there was a group of people congregated around the locked door, but when I mentioned the class, nobody knew what I was talking about. I was referred to the guy who worked there when he came and unlocked the door, but he made a quick phone call on his cell phone and he wasn’t able to verify anything about the class. But it turned out there was a free beatmaking workshop that was scheduled to take place in that same room at the same time and the instructor invited me to stay.

So I did.

This was the same school that offered the free recording workshops last summer that I went to, but when I got the flyer about this summer’s offerings, I didn’t bother to put it on my calendar since it interfered with the class I registered for. And “beatmaking” didn’t intrigue me as much as last year’s offerings so I probably wouldn’t have made the special trip across town to attend.

I’m so glad I did. The workshop was an introduction to Ableton Live and it was SO COOL! One my biggest struggles to my songs is getting them to sound like I want them to sound because of my limited ability of playing guitar (and other instruments). So the idea that I could make the songs electronically was really eye-opening. (By the way, I discovered later that week when I submitted my request for a refund for the class, that the cancellation message had been sent to my school account, which I didn’t know to check since this is my first class at the school.)

I’ve downloaded the free 30-day trial to see if I can figure it out. It’s slow-going because I’ve already forgotten some of the basics from the workshop (and I don’t have a MIDI keyboard), but I noticed that there is an electronic music class in the fall at the school.

And who knows, maybe showing up at the right place at the right time but for a totally different class could lead somewhere really exciting.

